Skip to main content
Intronis Partner Toolkit

Can I remotely erase my ECHOshare content on a Smartphone or a Tablet?

Overview

Can I remotely erase my ECHOshare content on a Smartphone or a Tablet?

 

Working with smartphones or tablets is a little different than with computers since they do not use a sync/backup agent. The only files stored locally on the device are the ones you have marked as Favorite’.

 

While it is not possible to remotely erase data of a mobile device, there are ways to ensure the data stored is protected and secure.

 

Removing these files from your Favorites’, via ECHOshare Workplace Online, will result in them being removed from your mobile device/s. Favorites are easily accessible from the Dashboard.

 

If sensitive data is stored within the ECHOshare app, we recommend enforcing a ‘Password Lock’, requiring a PIN entry upon launch of the ECHOshare App. This will ensure the data stored is entirely secure. Note that an enterprise subscription is required for this feature.

 

Files are stored in an encrypted cache and logging out from the mobile app will erase all of the data. An easy way to force this is to change the user's password, so the next time the mobile app tries to connect to the service, it will prompt for the password and, after 5 incorrect login attempts, the local cache will be wiped clean.