Skip to main content
Intronis Partner Toolkit

ECHOshare Desktop Agent Selective Sync

Overview

ECHOshare Workplace Desktop Agent version 5.0 offers a significant enhancement:

Selective Sync

Select precisely which folders sync to your machine, at any level of the folder structure.

Selective Sync

Selective Sync allows you to specify which folders within a Project are synced to your Mac or PC. This is especially useful when large Projects exist and only sub-sections of the Project need to be synced to the local machine.

Selective Sync can be performed on existing Projects or when syncing a Project for the first time. For administrators, Selective Sync can also be used on Projects stored in alternative locations to the ECHOshare folder, via the “Folder Sync” tab.

For all Selective Sync instructions, access the ECHOshare settings by:

Windows:
Click on the ECHOshare icon  in the system tray and, from the ‘Settings’ sub-menu, select ‘Workplace Sync…’ or ‘Folder Sync…’ option

Mac:
Click on the ECHOshare icon  in the menu bar and select ‘Open ECHOshare Preferences’, then select the ‘Workplace Sync’ or ‘Folder Sync’ tab

 

Selective Sync of new Projects

To selectively sync folders within a Project that is not currently syncing to the machine:

  1. Select the Workplace Sync’ tab
  2. Click ‘Sync Project
  3. Select the Project to sync and then click ‘Selective Sync
  4. Expand and collapse the folder structure by clicking the disclosure triangle. Tick the folders to be synced and untick the folders not to be synced.
    Note that by holding the ctrl key and clicking the checkboxes, you can check/uncheck a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.

  5. Click ‘OK
  6. The selected folder will now start to sync in the background.
  7. Close’ the Project Selection window or repeat steps 2 - 5 to sync another Project.

Selective Sync of synced Projects

To selectively sync folders within a Project that is currently syncing to the machine:

  1. Select the Workplace Sync’ tab
  2. Select the Project from the “Synced Projects” list, then click ‘Edit Selective Sync
  3. Expand and collapse the folder structure by clicking the disclosure triangle. Tick the folders to be synced and untick the folders not to be synced.
    Note that by holding the ctrl key and clicking the checkboxes, you can check/uncheck a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.
  4. Click ‘OK
  5. The selected folder will commence (un)syncing in the background so that the contents of the Project match your selection.

Selective Sync for new Projects via the “Folder Sync” tab

Note: only administrators can access the ‘Folder Sync’ tab.
To selectively sync folders within a Project that is not currently syncing to the machine:

  1. Select the ‘Folder Sync’ tab
  2. Click ‘Sync Project’, then select ‘Sync Project to local folder
    Note this option is only available for the ‘Sync Project to local folder’ option
  3. Click on ‘Select Project
  4. Select the Project to sync and then click ‘Selective Sync
  5. Expand and collapse the folder structure by clicking the disclosure triangle. Tick the folders to be synced and untick the folders not to be synced.
    Note that by holding the ctrl key and clicking the checkboxes, you can check/uncheck a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.
  6. Click ‘OK
  7. Click on ‘Browse’ and select the location for the Project to be stored locally
  8. Click ‘Sync Project to Local Folder
  9. The selected folder will now start to sync in the background.
  10. Close’ the Project Selection window or repeat steps 2 - 8 to sync another Project.

Selective Sync of Projects already synced via the “Folder Sync” tab

Note: only administrators can access the ‘Folder Sync’ tab.
To selectively sync only certain folders within a Project that is not currently syncing to the machine:

  1. Select ‘Folder Sync’ tab
  2. Click ‘Sync Project’, then select ‘Sync Project to local folder
    Note this option is only available for the ‘Sync Project to local folder’ option
  3. Click on ‘Select Project
  4. Select the Project to sync and then click ‘Selective Sync
  5. Expand and collapse the folder structure by clicking the disclosure triangle. Tick the folders to be synced and untick the folders not to be synced.
    Note that by holding the ctrl key and clicking the checkboxes, you can check/uncheck a box without automatically selecting/deselecting the sub-folders within that folder.
  6. Click ‘OK
  7. The selected folder will now start to sync in the background.
  8. Close’ the Project Selection window or repeat steps 2 - 6 to sync another Project.
  • Was this article helpful?