Skip to main content
Intronis Partner Toolkit

Restoring an Exchange Mailbox Level Backup

This article will show you how to restore individual messages, specific folders, or entire mailboxes from an Exchange Mailbox Level backup set.  Depending on the purpose for the restore, you may want to restore the mail back into Exchange or restore it outside, in the form of individual message files or a (.pst) file.  This article will show you the different ways to perform a restore and what options you have during the restore.

 

Directions


  1. Log into the management portal and navigate to the computer account whose mail you want to restore.
     

  2. On the computer account page, hit the Restore tab, then the Start a Restore button below it.
     

  3. In the Restore window that appears, select Microsoft Exchange as the backup set type and Mailbox Level from the right side.  Click Next.


  4. In the first panel, you should see the Exchange database(s) backed up by this backup set.  Click on the arrow to the right of the database name to get a list of user mailboxes.


  5. You can select either an entire mailbox or hit the right arrow to drill further down into the mailbox.  In most cases, the messages you want to restore will be in the "Top of Information Store" folder.
     

  6. From the "Top of Information Store" folder, you can whittle the restore set down to individual folders such as "Inbox" or "Drafts."  If you expand a folder, you will find a list of the mail items present in that folder.  To see the date stamp of the mail item, click on the arrow to the right of it.

    Note:  At any level of granularity, you have the option to select an entire folder or individual items within that folder.  To select individual items, you can select them manually or select the parent folder and exclude items within.  

    Once you have picked what you want to restore, hit Next.


  7. On the next page, choose the method of restore, where you want to restore the mail items to, whether attachments will be restored, and if existing files will be overwritten.

    When you are done selecting the settings, click Next to continue.
     

  8. On the final page, you will be given a summary of the restore.  Hit Restore to begin the restore job.

  • Was this article helpful?