Skip to main content
Barracuda MSP Partner Toolkit

What happens to a mailbox level backup when an email is deleted?

Messages backed up with a Mailbox Level backup will never be automatically deleted, even if they are deleted in Exchange.  Clients frequently use their mailbox backups to meet compliance standards so we do not have revision rules to automatically remove messages.  You can still manually delete mailboxes from the backup if you need to.

  • Was this article helpful?