Skip to main content
Barracuda MSP Partner Toolkit

Deleting Hyper-V Standard Revisions

Deleting Hyper-V Standard Revisions  

CAUTION! Deleted data is completely purged and can no longer be accessed or restored.

To delete a Hyper-V Standard revision, perform the following steps.

  1. Navigate to the Computer page.

The Computer page is displayed.

 

image002.jpg

  1. Select the Delete tab.

 

 

The Delete Selections page is displayed.

 

image004.jpg

  1. Select the backup type you want to delete.

The Delete page is displayed.

 

image006.jpg

  1. Select the check box of the VM you want to delete.

 

 

The selections for deletion are displayed in the right panel.

 

image008.jpg

 

  1. When satisfied with your selection, click the Delete button.

The Delete Confirmation pop-up is displayed.

 

image010.jpg

  1. Select the check box of one of the options.
  2. Click the Delete button.

The Delete Selections page is displayed with the latest status.

Hyper-V Standard Delete Options

Hyper-V Standard backup sets use deduplication and block-level processing. For these backup sets, the following options are available on the Delete Selection screen:

  • Retain backup data for 7 days
  • Delete all deduplication data

Retain Backup Data for 7 Days

By selecting the Retain backup data for 7 days check box, you can retain deleted data in your Local Vault and the cloud for deduplication purposes for seven days. At the end of seven days, this data is deleted.

This option is useful if you are backing up VMs on this machine and would like to use the existing blocks for de-duplication purposes.

If you choose not to select this option, the data that you have selected is deleted from the Local Vault and the cloud immediately.

Delete All Deduplication Data

By selecting the Delete all deduplication data check box, you can immediately delete any deduplication data not being used. This option is useful if you do not want to use existing blocks for de-duplication purposes anymore and you want to delete them immediately.

Note: You cannot select both check boxes at the same time; selecting one disables the other.

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?